Iowa Licenses: Department of Public Safety

The Iowa Department of Public Safety is an agency with the goal of serving the public safety needs of all Iowans.  It is made up of seven divisions including the Administrative Services Division, Division of Criminal Investigation, Division of Intelligence and Fusion Center, Division of Narcotics, Iowa State Patrol Division, Professional Development and Support Services, and the State Fire Marshal Division.  They are located in the Oran Pape State Office Building, 215 E. 7th St. Des Moines, IA 50319 and can be contacted by phone at 515-725-6000.

Their offices administer licensing for bail enforcement agents, consumer fireworks sales, and private security agencies, among others.  Use our licensing navigator below to find licensing that may be necessary for your business to operate in Iowa. If you have any questions, contact the ISL team through phone or text at 319-273-5444 or by email at [email protected].